Defending AHL champs bullied in playoff final

Create: 12/01/2015 - 19:42

The Aboriginal Hockey League 2010 playoffs were held April 23-25 at Fort William First Nation arena.
The Brown Street Bullies defeated the defending Thunder Bay Storm in a close fought 4-1 battle.
The consolation game featured the Dennis Franklin Cromarty High School Thunderhawks defeating R.W. Transport 6-2.
The 2009-10 featured the most teams ever to participate with eight teams hitting the ice.
Along with last year’s champions the league hosted the Brown Street Bullies, Thunder Bay Moose, Ojibway Eagles, DFC High School Thunderhawks and the newest teams Wolf Clan and R.W. Transport.
The AHL is considering expansion for 2010-11 as teams from other Thunder Bay hockey leagues have expressed interest in participating.
A Wolf Clan player was overheard saying “it felt great to be a part of a team again and enjoy some great hockey.”
The main purpose of the league is to ensure that players that are too old for minor or junior hockey can still enjoy the sport they love – it is also a forum for older players to get back into fun yet competitive hockey.
“The league has a lot of great players young and old,” said Ojibway Eagles player and manager Aaron Wesley.Wesley said the Eagles will be looking to improve in some areas for 2010-11 to better compete.